Updated 2026-10-26 · sources on every fact

18 AI money apps, checked against their own pricing pages and the SEC's adviser database.

AI financial advisors, budgeting apps and robo-advisors compared on what they cost, what they actually do, and whether there's an SEC-registered adviser behind the advice. 12 of the 18 are. 10 have a free plan.

Four questions

Find my app

Tell us what you need help with, whether SEC registration matters, and your budget. We match you against the same verified data as the table below, not against who pays us.

1. What do you want help with most?
2. Does it need to be an SEC-registered adviser?
3. Budget?
4. Roughly how much do you have invested?

All apps

Alphabetical. Order never depends on who pays us.

CFO Silvia

Free planstarts at

AI 'personal CFO' (net worth + Q&A)

Budgeting · Planning · Portfolio analysis

Not an SEC adviser* Free plan

Best for: Asking plain-English questions about your own numbers

Verified 2026-10-26

Cleo

$5.99/mostarts at

AI money coach (budgeting, credit, cash advance)

Budgeting · Planning

Not an SEC adviser*

Best for: Getting spending, debt and credit under control

Verified 2026-10-26 · some fields unverified

Copilot Money

$7.92/mostarts at

Budgeting & investment tracking app

Budgeting · Portfolio analysis

Not an SEC adviser*

Best for: Apple users who want a beautiful, low-effort budget

Verified 2026-10-26 · some fields unverified

Monarch

$8.33/mostarts at

Budgeting & net-worth app with AI assistant

Budgeting · Planning · Portfolio analysis

Not an SEC adviser*

Best for: Couples and households sharing a budget

Verified 2026-10-26

Nino

$20.00/mostarts at

AI financial assistant + optional CPA/planner team

Planning

Not an SEC adviser*

Best for: Equity-comp, landlord or multi-state tax situations

Verified 2026-10-26

We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links. It never changes our data or picks. Disclosure

*No matching firm in an SEC IAPD search under the company's name. Several of these apps say outright that they aren't advisers. That's a search result, not a legal finding.

Side-by-side comparison

Click a column header to sort. The filters above apply here too.

AppStarts atFree planFree trial BudgetingPlanningPortfolio analysisManages moneySEC adviserTry itVerified
Albert
Banking, budgeting & investing app with 'Genius' money help
$19.99/mono30 days before you're charged yesnot listednot listedyes SEC-registered · CRD 298006Try 2026-10-26
partial
Astor
AI investing agent (iPhone / iMessage)
Free planyesFree plan, no card not listedyesyesno SEC-registered · CRD 338424Try 2026-10-26
Betterment
Robo-advisor (automated investing)
$5/mo or 0.25%/yrnoNot stated not listednot listedyesyes SEC-registered · CRD 149117Try 2026-10-26
CFO Silvia
AI 'personal CFO' (net worth + Q&A)
Free planyesFree plan yesyesyesno Not an SEC adviser*Try 2026-10-26
Cleo
AI money coach (budgeting, credit, cash advance)
$5.99/mounverifiedNot stated yesyesnot listednot listed Not an SEC adviser*Try 2026-10-26
partial
Copilot Money
Budgeting & investment tracking app
$7.92/mono1 month for new users yesnot listedyesno Not an SEC adviser*Try 2026-10-26
partial
Empower
Free net-worth dashboard + managed wealth (robo/advisor)
Free dashboardyesn/a (dashboard is free) not listedyesyesyes SEC-registered · CRD 112058Try 2026-10-26
Evergreen.ai
AI financial planning app
Free planyesFree beta yesyesyesseparate paid program SEC-registered · CRD 326535Try 2026-10-26
Magnifi
AI investing assistant
Free planyesNot stated not listedyesyesnot listed SEC-registered · CRD 309397Try 2026-10-26
Mezzi
AI wealth advisor
Free planyesNot stated yesyesyesnot listed SEC-registered · CRD 337818Try 2026-10-26
Monarch
Budgeting & net-worth app with AI assistant
$8.33/mono7 days, payment method required yesyesyesnot listed Not an SEC adviser*Try 2026-10-26
Nino
AI financial assistant + optional CPA/planner team
$20.00/mono7-day software trial, no card. Advisor plans: 30-day money-back guarantee not listedyesnot listedno Not an SEC adviser*Try 2026-10-26
Origin
AI financial advisor + money app
$8.25/monoNot currently — help center says the free trial is unavailable during the first-year promo yesyesyesnot listed SEC-registered · CRD 305353Try 2026-10-26
PortfolioPilot
AI investing & planning advisor
Free planyesNot stated not listedyesyesnot listed SEC-registered · CRD 327520Try 2026-10-26
Public (Alpha AI)
Investing app with free AI research assistant
Free (Alpha)yesunverified nonot listedyesnot listed SEC-registered · CRD 318234Try 2026-10-26
partial
Range
Flat-fee advisor with proprietary AI ('Rai')
$3,950/yrnoNot stated yesyesyesyes SEC-registered · CRD 321969Try 2026-10-26
Rocket Money
Budgeting & subscription app with AI assistant
Free planyes7-day Premium trial yesyesnot listednot listed Not an SEC adviser*Try 2026-10-26
Wealthfront
Robo-advisor (automated investing)
0.25%/yryesSelf-directed brokerage account has no advisory fee not listednot listedyesyes SEC-registered · CRD 148456Try 2026-10-26

"Starts at" is the cheapest listed plan per month, using annual billing where offered. not listed means the sources we checked don't mention the feature, which doesn't prove it's missing.

We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links. It never changes our data or picks. Disclosure

Popular comparisons