Home / Comparisons / Betterment vs Empower

Betterment vs Empower (2026)

Price, free plan, features and SEC status side by side, from each company's own pages and the SEC database (verified 2026-10-26).

Betterment

$5/mo or 0.25%/yrstarts at
SEC-registered · CRD 149117
  • Digital: $5/mo, or 0.25%/yr with $24K+ balance or $200+/mo deposits
  • Premium: 0.65%/yr (adds advisor access)

Free plan: no · Trial: Not stated

Best for: Goal-based investing with optional human help

Our take: A mature, trustworthy robo-advisor. Set up a recurring deposit to avoid the $5/mo fee, and pay for Premium only if you'll use the advisors.

Try Betterment

Empower

Free dashboardstarts at
SEC-registered · CRD 112058
  • Personal Dashboard: Free
  • Personal Strategy (investment services, $100K–$249,999): 0.89%/yr
  • Wealth management ($250K–$999,999): 0.89%/yr
  • Private clients: 0.79% first $3M → 0.69% next $2M → 0.59% next $5M → 0.49% over $10M

Free plan: yes · Trial: n/a (dashboard is free)

Best for: Free net-worth and fee tracking

Our take: The free dashboard is excellent. The managed service at 0.89% costs more than most flat-fee AI options here.

Try Empower

We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links. It never changes our data or picks. Disclosure

Feature by feature

BettermentEmpower
Starts at$5/mo or 0.25%/yrFree dashboard
Free plannoyes
Free trialNot statedn/a (dashboard is free)
Budgetingnot listednot listed
Planningnot listedyes
Portfolio analysisyesyes
Manages moneyyesyes
SEC-registered adviserYes, CRD 149117Yes, CRD 112058
AI featureAutomated investing and tax-loss harvesting (no AI-specific feature verified)Automated portfolio management and a free tracking dashboard. No AI chatbot is listed on the pages we fetched
Last verified2026-10-262026-10-26

Which should you pick?

These picks are our editorial opinion. The facts above link to their sources on each app's page.

Still deciding?

Take the 60-second quiz, or compare all 18 apps.

Find my app