Home / Comparisons / Wealthfront vs Betterment

Wealthfront vs Betterment (2026)

Price, free plan, features and SEC status side by side, from each company's own pages and the SEC database (verified 2026-10-26).

Wealthfront

0.25%/yrstarts at
SEC-registered · CRD 148456
  • Automated portfolio: 0.25%/yr advisory fee
  • Brokerage account: No fees, $1 to start

Free plan: yes · Trial: Self-directed brokerage account has no advisory fee

Best for: Hands-off automated investing

Our take: Still one of the simplest ways to hand off investing. It's algorithmic automation more than chat AI, with a low 0.25% fee.

Try Wealthfront

Betterment

$5/mo or 0.25%/yrstarts at
SEC-registered · CRD 149117
  • Digital: $5/mo, or 0.25%/yr with $24K+ balance or $200+/mo deposits
  • Premium: 0.65%/yr (adds advisor access)

Free plan: no · Trial: Not stated

Best for: Goal-based investing with optional human help

Our take: A mature, trustworthy robo-advisor. Set up a recurring deposit to avoid the $5/mo fee, and pay for Premium only if you'll use the advisors.

Try Betterment

We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links. It never changes our data or picks. Disclosure

Feature by feature

WealthfrontBetterment
Starts at0.25%/yr$5/mo or 0.25%/yr
Free planyesno
Free trialSelf-directed brokerage account has no advisory feeNot stated
Budgetingnot listednot listed
Planningnot listednot listed
Portfolio analysisyesyes
Manages moneyyesyes
SEC-registered adviserYes, CRD 148456Yes, CRD 149117
AI featureAutomated, software-managed portfolios and tax-loss harvesting (no AI-specific feature verified)Automated investing and tax-loss harvesting (no AI-specific feature verified)
Last verified2026-10-262026-10-26

Which should you pick?

These picks are our editorial opinion. The facts above link to their sources on each app's page.

Still deciding?

Take the 60-second quiz, or compare all 18 apps.

Find my app